Tarnish!!!

Good grief! I’m cleaning my Hotel Silver-Plated Double Wine Cooler from Pottery Barn.  Well, I didn’t get it from Pottery Barn but someone did.  :-)  Thank you to the one who donated it to Goodwill.  It is tarnished quite a bit.  I don’t really want it as shiny as it was in its original state; I think it will look nice with a patina.  I’m going to use it as a vase for fresh-cut flowers from my garden.  I’ve been checking sites on Google for various ways to clean silver-plate.  I’m using Wright’s Silver Polish Creme.  It’s working but it’s going to take lots of time and muscles. :-) I’ve taken a slight rest while posting this so I think I’ll rub on it a while.  Maybe a Genie will arise in a puff of jasmine-scented fog and grant me three wishes!  ha! If you have a suggestion, it’s welcome. :-) Have a great evening.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Wow, that’s quite the Goodwill find! We have numerous Goodwill stores here in Roanoke and NONE of them has ever provided me with a good find… waaaah..

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I don’t think I’ve seen you comment before so I really want to give a big thanks to you. Oh, and HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

    Di

  2. I think I remember reading somewhere about cleaning silver with hot water and tin foil and something else. It seemed like a lot of bother unless you’re cleaning a lot of silver pieces.

    What a great Goodwill find! I should go more often.

  3. I never find great stuff at our Goodwill’s anymore. When I do venture in, there are a million people there. Your find is fabulous. I use good old Wright’s too. Thank you for visiting my blog and following. The door is always open. Best Wishes, Lynn

  4. A sinkful of warm water with a sheet of alum. foil on the bottom of sink. Put in a cup, or thereabouts, of baking soda and then lay the items to be cleaned on top of the foil. Using an old, soft toothbrush will help also. Great Goodwill find! I just found an old kitchen mixing bowl that I’ve grown fond of; photos to follow…eventually. -smile-

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

