Saturday, 26 January

I’m finally ready to post a photo of Rachel’s hat.  I mentioned previously that I’m designing it.  It’s very different from what I’m accustomed.  I don’t know if it’s intarsia or stranded technique. It’s actually a little of both, I think.  I read up on both techniques and needed to use both.  I’m using more of the stranded because I don’t like cutting the thread so much. It’s less likely to come untied if it’s not tied at all!

Here’s a picture thus far:

Rachel’s hat

As you can see, Cleo became quite bored with my knitting session!  🙂  She loves to watch the yarn as it works its way out of the center of the cake.  It’s comical.  She tries so hard to sit still, because she knows she’s not supposed to play with it, but sometimes … she just can’t help herself and pounces right in the middle of it!  You can tell by these two cakes that she has pounced on them.  lol

I’m making “Xs” and “Os” on the next rounds, then another section of open/solid hearts.  After that, I think I’m going to bind off, do a reverse single crochet in brown, then pick up 10 or 12 stitches behind the reverse single to make pink earflaps on each side with brown reverse single.  The pom-pom and braids will be brown and pink combo.  I hope she likes it.  I’m going to make her another pink and brown hat that does not have earflaps.  I’ve not decided what style just yet.   Her brother, Luke, wants another snowboarder’s hat.  It’s going to be orange and maroon striped with maroon trim and both colors in the pom-pom and braids.  He’s a Virginia Tech fan, too.

yarn strand holderI am using this apparatus to keep the yarns from becoming entangled.  It isn’t as snug on my finger as I’d like.  I think if I get a rubber ring to put on my finger first, it will stay put.  If you’ve used one, please leave a comment and let me know if you’ve had the same problem and, if so, your remedy. 

 

I made a hat for another cousin, Allison, for Christmas but she didn’t like it.  She was Allisonvery nice about it and smiled for the picture but her mom told me she’d not wear it.  She said, “She might wear it if she can get that pom-pom off of it.”  I should have made it a little smaller.  Ahh … that’s how it goes.  I think most of what I make goes into a drawer no one ever looks in.  lol  Luke liked his hat, though.  He’s a trooper for me!  lol  Here is a picture of Allison in hers: 

She’s really cute in it but as you can see, the pom-pom is a little large.  lol  Red and black are her school colors.  Also, she’d never seen a hat of this style before. You know, at age 11, you can’t wear what you’ve not seen in a magazine or television show! lol

Aubrey's hat and scarf                                                                           

 

This little set is made for a friend’s 4-month old baby, Aubrey.  It’s made using Bernat Baby Alpaca.  It’s a very soft, cuddly yarn.  The set is knitted with a crocheted flower.  The hat has enough stretch that she’ll be able to wear it until she passed toddler age!  lol

 

I guess I’ve blogged enough for one day.  I’ll have more in a few days … maybe tomorrow.  🙂  This blogging makes me want to switch to DSL internet access.  I’ve been thinking of it and I’ve made up my mind that it will happen in the next few months.  Then … I’ll be bloggin’ every day!  Life’s good, ain’t it?  lol

Good night … sweet dreams …

4 responses to this post.

  1. Wow, thats a cool little finger gadget, I’ve never seen those before!

  2. Posted by milmom on January 27, 2008 at 5:50 pm

    I absolutely adore the pink and brown hat. Your recipients are very lucky indeed.

  3. I didn’t see this gadget before, I can’t imagine how you could twist the yarns while using it!! I usually opt for the old fashoned way and spend 5min every so often to undo the tangled strands!! The colours are lovely, keep up the good work!!! Visit my blog sometime, not as much detail as you, but I am getting there!!!!

  4. really good one and thanks for it.

    http://www.indiamatrimony.com for indian matrimonials

Leave a Reply

