Another day … another hat

It’s hard to believe that January is almost gone!  I studied the calendar intently this morning … knowing I’d missed a week somewhere!

Today was a lovely day; as lovely as January can bring, anyway.  The temperature was about 52 degrees.  I spent a little time outside in the warmth of the sun thanking God for all He’s done for me.  I love to go out this time of year and feel how warm the sun is.  Sometimes, when it’s just too cold to spend time outdoors, I open my curtains and sit on the window seat in the sunshine.  In addition to making me feel happy … it increases my supply of Vitamin D!

I took a break from the pink and brown hat.  I wanted to do some “mindless” knitting Rachel's Virginia Tech hatwhile watching the SAG (Screen Actors’ Guild) Awards last evening.  So, during the show, I made this hat in orange and maroon (Virginia Tech’s colors).  My intent was to make it for my cousin, Luke.  He’d requested an earflap hat in these colors.  For some reason, my thoughts didn’t gel with my fingers.  lol  I wanted to put the earflaps on almost as an “afterthought”.  I obviously was too engrossed in the Awards show and completely forgot to knit one row, purl one row to keep the brim from rolling.  After I added a half-double crochet round in maroon to the bound off edge, it looked too feminine.  So, I made a tassle attached with two strands of crochet chain and decided to give it to Luke’s sister, Rachel.  I’m starting on another “more manly” hat in the same colors for him.  It’s actually a pretty hat but the colors don’t photograph well.  The orange looks strange.  I’m using Red Heart Super Saver for this because I couldn’t find the correct color of orange in any other brand.  This color is called “Carrot”.

This hat was a Christmas gift.  I made it using Patons Classic Wool in forest green (I Jacqueline's hatthink that was the name?).  I haven’t heard from the recipient, so I don’t know if she likes it or not.  I really like it and will make one for myself later.  It’s supposed to fit a little loose and the top is flat.  My picture isn’t so great.  Here’s the link to the pattern where you can see much better photos.  It’s called Stella’s Hat.

After I finish this group of hats I’m working on right now … I’m going to start making sweaters or jackets or vests.  I want to make something that someone will wear and enjoy wearing it.  Oh … I do have a pair of fingerless gloves to finish.  They’re awesome.  I’m making them for my aunt.  I’m using Bernat Baby Alpaca in a soft brown color.  The fiber feels great but it splits quite easily.  And I’ve got an idea for a felted bag.  Then … I’m going to start making “whatever” for Christmas 2008.  Hopefully, I will be able to accomplish something nice for each of my aunts, uncles and cousins.

Good night …

2 responses to this post.

  1. Hello. I’m glad that there is someone else who knits while watching TV. I couldn’t put a title on this type of knitting, but you summed it up well by saying “mindless”. That is my way of winding down and relaxing. I can feel the stitches too and know when theres a purl in the wrong place!!! Am I sad or what. The hats are beautiful, you seem to have a thing for hats!!! My favourites are any baby clothes, although my children are 9 & 13 now. Small things can be finished in a day or two and don’t become a chore to finish.

    We have the same temperature in Ireland at the moment 50ish, but we may be going colder later this week!!! Keep up the great work.
    LOL
    Lizzy

  2. Those hats are great! Your applesauce sounds yummy.

Leave a Reply

