Super Bowl Sunday!

Yep … it’s that time of year again … Super Bowl Sunday XLII!  The New England Patriots and the New York Giants are going head-to-head for some nice rings.  🙂  There are five players among the two teams from my hometown alma matre, Marshall University.  I can’t name all five of them; only three:  Ahmad Bradshaw, Troy Brown and Randy Moss. 

I made a huge pot of chili with shredded cheddar cheese and sour cream as an option.  I’ve not made any dessert yet but just read a blog belonging to “life with monkey” about “punkin pah” … and it makes me want Paula Deen’s awesome Pumpkin Gooey Butter Cake.  It’s so wonderful and is really a pie in a cake pan.  If you try the recipe, you’ll never want a regular ol’ “punkin pah” again!  One thing to remember … don’t overbake your pumpkin pies.  I’ve noticed this is a problem with almost every person I know who bakes them.  When you remove them from the oven:  they should be somewhat “giggly” in the center.  The reason for this:  they continue to bake after they’re removed from the oven.  The heat from the pie continue to cook the custard (this is true in any custard-type pie).  After it’s cooled, you will not be eating an undercooked pie.  You will be eating an awesome, perfect pie that is not burned or overcooked in any way.  Give it a try.

 I’m off to make some dessert and watch the game!

Have a great Sunday afternoon …

One response to this post.

  1. Hello

    I watched the opening ceremony but because it was so late here 11.30pm, I did not stay up to watch until the end. We dont get to see American football very much, but record it when we can. In the 80’s it was on every Sunday, and as it was a chill-out day, thats what we watched – I remember one player well “The Fridge”, a big square bloke I would imagine!!!

    LOL Lizzy

Leave a Reply

