Where has the time gone?!

I’ve been away from the computer for a while.  I knew that but didn’t realize just how long it’s been!

There is an interesting article in the Charleston (West Virginia) Daily Mail on a “knitting graffiti artist“.  I don’t know that I’d do it, personally, but I like that she’s done it.  It’s not destroying property and gives a chuckle.  I wonder if it’s illegal?  Oh well … I can’t wait to see if she makes the bridge cozy!  lol

I’ve got a few things on my needles and hook at the moment.  I’m making a crocheted felted tote bag.  It’s in the drying position at this posting.  I’m not sure what I’m going to do for the handles.  I can felt them or I can use leather.  I’m leaning towards the leather.  I might post a photo this week and ask your opinion.  I’ve got a scarf on the needles for the “mindless” knitting needs and I’m starting a sweater.  Photos later.

I’ve finally taken the plunge regarding DSL network.  I called the phone company on Friday evening.  They have a special right now.  I signed up for DSL and qualified for a 19″ Sharp flat-panel HD-TV for $50.  I was going to purchase a television for my craft room so this deal was perfect for me.  I decided to switch from cable (with whom I have the “paupers package” of 21 channels for $21.17 per month for the last four years) to DISH Network.  I get 100 channels plus 7 local channels for $29.99 plus tax.  I could have gotten the HD package for a mere $10 more but chose not to at this time.  By the time it was over, I’ll be paying about $35 more monthly for television, telephone and internet service than previously.  I always get nervous when I obligate myself to more money per month.  I had to agree to a two-year contract with the internet and DISH.  I’m sure the difference in the dial-up (which never connects faster than 26.4 kbps) and DSL (where the $35 increase occurred) will be worth every penny.  My stress level will be lowered … which is good for my blood pressure problems … and I’ll be able to do things I enjoy on the internet.  I’m planning to sell some crochet and knit books, patterns, etc., on eBay or etsy.  I want to get rid of lots of things I have that I don’t use anymore.  The DISH will be installed on Monday between noon and 5 p.m.  Frontier DSL will be installed on Wednesday between noon and 5 p.m.  I probably won’t post anymore until Wednesday … then I’ll sit in front of the pc for hours!

Have a great day!

2 responses to this post.

  1. I have not had a chance to get here in awhile and not heard all of your news–so glad the tree did not injure anyone. Your projects are beautiful and you will love DSL!

  2. hello, I dont know if DSL is the same as broadband, if so, you will be blogging all day, it is great. We only had analog TVin our house, but will be moving to satelite shortly, I feel behind the times, as most homes have satelite dishes here. We bought a new LCD on Saturday and realised what a bad reception we are getting!!! As you say, it is a bit more costly, but we love our programmes, Lost, Desperate HW, etc. LOL Lizzy

Leave a comment