Meet the Browns …

Yesterday, I was filled with anticipation as I showered, make-upped, primped and dressed to go to the movies with my long-time friend, Greta.  We were going to see Tyler Perry’s Meet the Browns!  I am, by nature, not a comedy-movie-lover.  I like the drama … the shoot-’em-up-bang-’em-up-cops-and-robbers drama.  But whenever Mable Madea R. Simmons is showing herself in a movie … I’m there.  She is the funniest woman I’ve ever seen.  I also love the message in the movies.  Fortunately, Tyler Perry, is a Christian and uses the messages of God in his movies … without “preaching” to the crowd. 

Greta and I got to the theatre in spirited anticipation!  We purchased our tickets … waited in line for our snacks of popcorn with extra butter and Coke.  Greta splurged and got the combo consisting of popcorn, beverage AND candy.  Sour Patch Kids.  They sound so cute!  Sour Patch Kids.  I envision children playing in the veggie patch … picking carrots and kicking dirt clods.  Until she politely offered me some.  I popped one in my mouth and suddenly, I lost all control.  My lips turned wrong-side out like the mule on Hee-Haw!  The skin peeled away from the insides of my cheeks and the taste buds on my tongue are tender to this day!  Stay away from those Sour Patch Kids … they’re devils in disguise.

The movies was supposed to start at 2:20 p.m.  We got our seats at about 2:10.  The previews for other movies were showing already.  At 2:20 … previews were still showing … at 2:30 … still previews … Greta and I are getting antsy.  Someone forgot to push PLAY!  We’re almost finished with popcorns and beverages and the movie hasn’t started!  FINALLY … 2:40 the last of the previews showed and the movie started. 

Sincere disappointment.  Madea showed up in the last 20 minutes of the movie for about 45 seconds.  It would have been acceptable if the rest of the movie was funny.  I laughed at some parts but not enough for me to say I enjoyed the movie and you must go see it.  Angela Basset was, as always, beautiful.  Rick Fox was … Rick Fox.  Momma always said, “If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all.”  There was, as I said, humor throughout but not enough for me to be happy about it.  lol  I hope if you go … you enjoy it more than I did.

After the movie, Greta and I went our separate ways.  I ended up at Wal-Mart purchasing cat food, a dog treat and Strawberry Milkshake Oreos

The Oreos were the highlight of my day. 

Aahh … Life is good.

Leave a Reply

