I’m great now …

… a wonderful lady from Ravelry has helped me witih the pattern! 

My problem:  I didn’t know how to read the pattern.  It says K3, Sl 1, K1, PSSO, K1  I did each step, literally.  I didn’t know that Sl 1, K1, PSSO was the decrease.  I thought I was supposed to Sl 1 … K1 … then do the decrease!  DUH!!

I’ve seen abbreviations for PSSO and it did not have Sl 1, K1 in front of it.  I had no idea it all went together. 

Thank you Libby!

Edited to Add (ETA): A lady from Paton’s called me regarding the pattern because I’d sent them an email.  I was told by three experienced knitters that SL1, K1, PSSO was “antiquated”.  So … trying to be helpful, I told the lady that the abbreviation was outdated and could they use the modern abbreviation of SSK or SSP?  Mistake.  She was offended.  Highly … offended.  She’s been editing patterns for 30 years, you know.  She of all people should know whether an abbreviation is outdated or not.  Possibly I was talking to people who are in Europe?  (NO, I was not.)  This Pedicure Sock pattern is a brand new pattern.  And the business is pronounced PAY-tons.  Just so you know.  😉

One response to this post.

  1. That’s so nice you got help with your pattern! Ravelry is a wonderful group 🙂
    Knitting patterns can be so confusing sometimes. I sometimes have to check several sources to find out how to do something. Misplaced punctuation alone sometimes is enough to mess everything up.

    Good luck with your socks!

    Thank you for your nice comment about my raggedy anne ( I think it was you who commented). I don’t think I’ll ever stop missing my mother, but after I read about you losing your Mom at such a young age I feel very fortunate I had her as long as I did.

    happy knitting 🙂

Leave a Reply

