Hello again …

I finally started the afghan I talked about in the previous post. I am a member of Team West Virginia in the Ravelympics 2008. My event is the Afghan Marathon. I started while watching the XXIX Olympics opening ceremony on Friday night. Well, I tried to begin anyway. The opening ceremony was so interesting and amazing that I couldn’t take my eyes off the television! If you didn’t see it … you really missed something. Hopefully, the closing ceremony will be just as fascinating. I don’t agree with China’s political agenda and had reservations about watching the Olympics because I‘d talked with others who were boycotting it. Then I began to think about the people … the human beings who have worked for years on their talents … and decided that by supporting the people of the world, I would not necessarily be supporting the political decisions of a country. I was truly touched and happy that I decided to watch. There was not a face shown on television that wasn’t full of pride and joy no matter the country from where they came. The Olympics is the only time that I know of where every country on this planet sets aside their differences and, although competitive, enjoy the camaraderie of one another without political influence. I hope everyone there has the times of their lives.

In addition to the afghan mentioned below, I will be making a second one for Baby Lucy. I love it. It is from the same pattern book: The Best of Terry Kimbrough Baby Afghans, titled Playtime. It is made with Bernat Satin Sport, taupe in color. The color is not one normally used for a baby but this is no ordinary baby. She’s going to be a baby of impeccable taste. lol  Photos coming soon.

The Block Afghan-along is going well at my MSN group, Hooks and Needles. If you’re interested, please apply to join and mention where you read about the group.

Have a great week!!

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Hi there!
    I love your blog!
    The bird fabric I used for the needle cases on my blog is from walmart. It’s on a bolt with the quilter’s fabric. Hope you can find it near you! 🙂

  2. I know I need to get the circle cloth pattern up…no time, but I just wanted you to know it’s a super easy pattern. It looks much more complicated than it is. If you can Knit, Purl and slip a stitch you’ll be able to do it, no problem.
    I hope you’ll check back later and perhaps give it a try 🙂

    happy knitting 🙂

Leave a Reply

