Exquisite is finished …

I finished the baby afghan for Lucy Michaela. She will be born “soon”. Her momma is my second cousin, Jacqueline. I believe the due-date is 27 September 2008 but we’ve been very impatiently waiting for weeks now! lol Jacqueline has had Braxton-Hicks contractions since June. What do you think of the afghan? It’s called Exquisite and the pattern can be found in The Best of Terry Kimbrough Baby Afghans.  It can also be found in Heirloom Afghans for Baby.  I used Caron Simply Soft in off-white and an “F” hook. The pattern calls for sport weight but I really wanted to use the Simply Soft. It worked well. I really hope Jacqueline and her husband, Michael, will like it. As you probably guessed, the “Michaela” name is in honor of her daddy. The “Lucy” name is in honor of my late Granny, who would be Jacqueline’s great-Granny. Her name was actually Lucinda, but she preferred Lucy. Granny went to Heaven in 1986. There is not one day that passes that I don’t think of her, if even for a minute. I’d not have survived a life-altering motorcycle crash had it not been for her. She was and still is my foundation. I’ll post more about her along with a photo at a later date.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Denise on September 29, 2008 at 7:10 am

    Your babyghan came out gorgeous!!! I love Terry K. patterns, too. They are so unique, and come out beautiful. Her borders take even more work than the body of the ghan, don’t they?!! Sooo worth it. Beautiful job.

  2. The afghan is exquisite! I bought 12 skeins of that same yarn!
    I love that crochet is so fast. SS is not quite worsted in my book. I think the weight is in between sport and worsted. It sure worked well for the afghan!

  3. your babyghan is outstanding! a masterpiece of crochet!
    I love Simply Soft yarn!

Leave a Reply

