One down …

It’s still raining! I hope I don’t end up having to build an ark! I’m not finished with Christmas presents and just don’t have the time. lol

I did get one gift finished. It’s called My So-Called Scarf by Allison Isaacs. I got the pattern from Ravelry.  It’s a great site for knitters and crocheters.  my-so-called-scarfYou have to be a member to view the patterns, etc., but it’s well worth the time to sign up.  It’s a free service, too.  It’s a must for fiber addicts. 

 

I frogged this scarf probably a dozen times before I got the rhythm of the pattern then it was smooth sailin’.  The yarn is LionBrand Jiffy; color avocado; size 11 needles. I wasn’t satisfied with the normal bind-off sewn-bind-offmethod because it looks so different from the long-tail method of casting on. I searched on Google and found Elizabeth Zimmerman’s method called sewn bind-off. It’s perfect! Can you tell which side is cast on and which is bind off?  This is for a cousin for Christmas but I’m not sure which one yet.

All MSN groups are closing in February, unfortunately. I’m not sure what I’m going to do with my knit and crochet group. There are about 14 members and maybe 7 participate. I’d like to move the group to another site but I’m just not sure. Having a small group is a more personal level of learning. We have had a few crochet-alongs (CAL) and knit-alongs (KAL). This is when we vote on a pattern and crochet or knit it together. I usually post a few rows or rounds every few days. If someone has problems or questions, they’re posted to the group board and someone answers them. We usually try to make it a challenge for each person so we can learn together.   From mid-June through October, we made a 20-square-afghan, with each square crocheted in a different pattern.  It was fun to do.  I’ve still got to sew mine together and will post a photo as soon as I am finished.  Hopefully, it will be a Christmas present. 

I will post here when I decide what the final decision will be.  My co-manager is not in good health and cannot be expected to continue … I just don’t know what to do yet 

Hopefully … I’ll have another finished gift to post tomorrow!

Until then … have a great time at whatever you’re doing! 

I made rice krispie treats … I hear them calling my name between the snaps, krackles and pops.

One response to this post.

  1. I love the scarf! I’d wear it!
    Did you knit that just for me…aw……………..lol.

Leave a Reply

