When there’s no electricity …

I was without electricity for two night and almost three days. There are so many people, especially in Kentucky, who are still without it.  Their frustration level has to be at it’s peak.  I pray that they soon are with electricity and there are no more deaths because of it.  It is, at least, supposed to warm to 60 degrees by Saturday.  But, I think about the right now.  And right now it is 17 degrees and sunny at 2 p.m.

But really … the things you miss when there is no electricity. It makes me wonder how Laura Ingalls made it through life as well as she did. She must’ve been Wonder Woman in the flesh.  And she did it all in a dress!

Here are the objects I found important while without power:

Firstly, the “Tank Top Heater” attached to the Blue Rhino propane tank. Now, I know it says not to use this indoors but I had no choice. It worked fine although I only turned it on long enough to keep my lips from turning blue.  I continually checked for leaks and certainly did not use it while sleeping. 

 bluerhino

Then, to keep my sanity,from left to right: 

  1. flashlight
  2. thermos of coffee from a beloved friend
  3. money (just in case someone goes to the store for you)
  4. Jif peanut butter (make sure it’s not on the recall list)
  5. oil lamps
  6. Bible an absolute must in any situation
  7. Nintendo DS (you can use it as long as the battery is charged)
  8. a little bit of knitting

  noelectricity

and a beloved friend named Vickey. Everyone needs a friend like Vickey in their lives. I can’t say enough good things about her. I’ll get a photo of her later and make a post completely devoted to her.

The animals have the right idea:

Mister curls up with a blanket around him: 

mister18

Samson is under the electric blanket, although there is no electricity. It doesn’t matter to him … he’s warm just like it is.  No matter how warm it is in the house, he at least has to have his nose under a blanket or pillow.  It must be the “denning” instinct from his ancestors.

noelectricity1

 

I hope you haven’t experienced power outages this winter. Keep in mind that it can happen at any time and be prepared! Thank God I was … except for the hot coffee in that beautiful, stainless steel thermos that was delivered to my door by my friend, Vickey. Sigh … it just doesn’t get any better than that.

*****************************************

There was about 6 inches of snow that fell on us on Tuesday night. Of course, I thought it was going to hit on Wednesday so I ran my errands on Tuesday evening. It took me about 1 and 1/2 hours to drive 23 miles home! It was a beautiful site. Breathtaking. Like being in a snow globe. I saw it as a blessing. My friend with me saw it as terror. I kept telling her that there was no need to worry, although my 4 wheel-drive doesn’t work. I asked God for protection and to get us home safely and I expected it to happen. And it did.

Here is a photo of the Autumnal decor that has yet to be removed. The little man has quite a bit of snow built up on his cute little hat:

 snowfall4feb09

This is the view from one of my windows:

snowfall4feb09-1

Have a great day and keep as warm as you can …

4 responses to this post.

  1. I’m glad you’re okay and have your power back. One more thing you should pick up in case it happens again is one of those head lamps. Not only do they help you get around with your hands free, but you can actually knit with one!

    I lost power for a few days this winter, but went to a hotel. I’ve lost it for a few days a couple of other times in the past and stuck it out at home – it’s very difficult!

  2. Posted by Lesley Ann on February 7, 2009 at 9:13 am

    I’ve never seen a head light! lol Sounds perfect for me. I’ll look at the hardware store. Thanks!

  3. Hi! I clicked on your link from a comment you left at Tea Time & Roses. You have a very comfy place here. 🙂

    I’ve learned the hard way, the things to have on hand in the event of losing power. About six years ago, we lost our power for right at a week, due to a bad ice-storm. We are all electric, with no other sourcr of heat. It was MISERABLE! Most of the town was without power, though oddly enough, a neighborhood near us did not lose their’s. Fortunately for us, our pastor lived there, and we went there for cups of hot coffee as needed.

    I still remember the night we left there house, after having spent a couple hours there getting warm and drinking coffee, and turned onto our street. I noticed that the street lamp was on, so I knew we were back in business. Hubby and I shouted praises all the way to our house! 😉

  4. Oh my goodness, you’ve had a rough time with that power outage! Thankfully, ours hasn’t been off for several years. Thank the Lord for folks who know what coffee means to folks like us! 🙂

Leave a Reply

